Acknowledgments

No book is the work only of its authors. We greatly appreciate the valuable contributions of several people who helped make this new edition possible. We owe very special thanks to Keri Miksza for her deep and valuable involvement and advice throughout every phase of the project. We thank Andrew Norman of Drake University for his skillful development of company cases and for his assistance in preparing selected marketing stories. Thanks also go to Laurie Babin of the University of Southern Mississippi for her dedicated efforts in preparing the new Marketing by the Numbers appendix; Deborah Utter of Boston University for her able development of the end-of-chapter material; Marian Burk Wood for her help in creating the Marketing Plan appendix; and Mandy Roylence for her good work on the video cases.

Many reviewers at other colleges and universities provided valuable comments and suggestions for this and previous editions. We are indebted to the following colleagues for their thoughtful inputs:

Twelfth Edition Reviewers

Roger Berry, California State University, Dominguez Hills

Glenn Chappell, Coker College

Glenn L. Christensen, Brigham Young University

Kathleen Conklin, St. John Fisher College

Mary Conran, Temple University

Philip Gelman, College of DuPage

Hugh Guffey, Auburn University

Pat Jacoby, Purdue University

Carol Johanek, Washington University

Dolly D. Loyd, University of Southern Mississippi

Kerri Lum, Kapiolani Community College

Thomas R. Keen, Caldwell College

Dmitri Kuksov, Washington University in

St. Louis

Larry Maes, Davenport University Wendy Martin, Judson College, Illinois Patrick H. McCaskey, Millersville University

June McDowell-Davis, Catawba College/ High Point University

H. Lee Meadow, Indiana University East

John Mellon, College Misericordia

William Renforth, Angelo State University

Melinda Schmitz, Pamlico Community College

Lynne Smith, Carroll Community College

Donna Tillman, California Polytechnic University, Pomona

Janice Trafflet, Bucknell University

Rafael Valiente, University of Miami

Douglas E Witt, Brigham Young

University

Larry Zigler, Highland Community
College

Former Reviewers

Ron Adams, University of North Florida Sana Akili, Iowa State University Mark Alpert, University of Texas at Austin

Mark Anderson, Eastern Kentucky University Allan L. Appell, San Francisco State University

Laurie Babin, University of Southern Mississippi

Michael Ballif, University of Utah Pat Bernson, County College of Morris Amit Bhatnagar, University of Wisconsin Thomas Brashear, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Fred Brunel, Boston University Jeff Bryden, Bowling Green University David J. Burns, Youngstown State University

Sang T. Choe, University of Southern Indiana

Mary Conran, Temple University
Alicia Gooper, Morgan State University
Preyas Desai, Furdue University
Kenny Herbst, Saint Joseph's University
Terry Holmes, Murray State University

Eileen Kearney, Montgomery County Community College

Tina Kiesler, California State University at North Ridge

Bruce Lammers, California State University at North Ridge

J. Ford Laumer, Auburn University

Kenneth Lawrence, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Richard Leventhal, Metropolitan State College, Denver

Tamara Mangleburg, Florida Atlantic University

Patricia M. Manninen, North Shore Community College

H. Lee Meadow, Northern Illinois University

Mohan K. Menon, University of Southern Alabama

Martin Meyers, University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point William Mindak, Tulane University David M. Nemi, Niagra County Community College

Carl Obermiller, Seattle University Howard Olsen, University of Nevada at Reno

Betty Parker, Western Michigan University

Vanessa Perry, George Washington University

Abe Qastin, Lakeland College

Paul Redig, Milwaukee Area Technical College

Roberta Schultz, Western Michigan University

Alan T. Shao, University of North Carolina, Charlotte

Martin St. John, Westmoreland County Community College

Karen Stone, Southern New Hampshire University

John Stovall, University of Illinois, Chicago

Jeff Streiter, SUNY Brockport Ruth Taylor, Texas State University Donna Tillman, California State Polytechnic University Simon Walls, University of Tennessee Mark Wasserman, University of Texas

Alvin Williams, University of Southern Mississippi

Andrew Yap, Florida International University

Irvin A. Zaenglein, Northern Michigan University

We also owe a great deal to the people at Prentice Hall who helped develop this book. Project Manager Melissa Pellerano provided valuable support and assistance and ably managed many facets of this complex revision project. We would also like to thank Angela Pica, Production Editor; Jeff Shelstad, Editorial Director; Judy Leale, Associate Director of Production; and Christy Mahon, Manager of Creative Services. We are proud to be associated with the fine professionals at Prentice Hall.

Finally, we owe many thanks to our families for all of their support and encouragement—Kathy, Betty, Mandy, Matt, KC, Keri, Delaney, Molly, and Macy from the Armstrong family and Nancy, Amy, Melissa, and Jessica from the Kotler family. To them, we dedicate this book.

Philip Kotler Gary Armstrong